Monday 08 August 2022, 03:45 PM
17 US states sue to block Obama's order on immigration
By IANS | Bharat Defence Kavach | Publish Date: 12/4/2014 12:00:00 AM
17 US states sue to block Obama's order on immigration

Austin (Texas) : A coalition of 17 US states led by Texas have filed a federal lawsuit aiming to block implementation of President Barack Obama's executive order shielding some five million undocumented immigrants from deportation.

"The president is abdicating his responsibility to faithfully enforce laws that were duly enacted by Congress and attempting to rewrite immigration laws, which he has no authority to do," Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott said Wednesday.

Abbott, who will become governor of the Lone Star state in January, has argued that Obama's measures will encourage more unauthorised immigration and make the southern border less secure.

Joining Texas in the suit are Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Arizona's Sheriff Joe Arpaio, known for his tough line toward undocumented migrants, filed a private suit against Obama's executive order the day after the president detailed his plan.


17 US states sue to block Obama's order on immigration


भारत डिफेंस कवच की नई हिन्दी पत्रिका ‘डिफेंस मॉनिटर’ का ताजा अंक ऊपर दर्शाया गया है। इसके पहले दस पन्ने आप मुफ्त देख सकते हैं। पूरी पत्रिका पढ़ने के लिए कुछ राशि का भुगतान करना होता है। पुराने अंक आप पूरी तरह फ्री पढ़ सकते हैं। पत्रिका के अंकों पर क्लिक करें और देखें। -संपादक

Contact Us: 011-66051627

E-mail: [email protected]

Copyright 2018 Bharat Defence Kavach. All Rights Resevered.
Designed by : 4C Plus